Awards and Winners

2019 Husky Energy Eastern Newfoundland Science and Technology Fair

This year the fair  was hosted by Holy Heart of Mary High School. The fair was held on Friday, April 12 and Saturday, April 13. On Friday morning students attended tours offered from several departments and research facilities at Memorial University, the Ocean Sciences Centre in Logy Bay as well as a number of departments at the Colleg of the North Atlantic. Tours were followed by judging in the afternoon. There were over 80 judges, many of whom are professors, instructors and graduate students at MUN. There were 158 students from 12 schools on the Avalon Peninsula, both junior and senior high, competing. These schools included Beaconsfield, Crescent Collegiate, Ecole Rocher-du-Norde, Holy Heart, Holy Spirit, Holy Trinity, Lakecrest, MacDonald Drive Junior, St. Bonaventure’s College, St. Kevin’s Junior, Villanova and Waterford Valley.

On Saturday, the public viewing and awards ceremony was attended by approximately 300 people. The emcees for the ceremony were Heidi Kavanagh, Co-Chair and Nicole Ash, vice-chair of the Eastern Newfoundland Science Fairs Council, (ENSFC),  the group of volunteers that organizes the fair each year. A number of representatives from the major sponsors of the fair also attended and assisted with the presentation of awards. These included Mr. Jim Gilmour,  General Manager of Production Operations, Husky Energy; Dr. Mark Abrahams, Dean of Science, MUN; Dr. Irene O’Brien, Dean, School of Health Sciences, CNA; Mr. Bernard Davis, Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour, Government of NL; Mr Glen Williams, Program Specialist, Science and 7-12 (Avalon), NL English School District.

One of the highlights of the awards ceremony was the awarding of the grand awards which includes the selection of the 6 students that will represent Eastern Newfoundland at the Canada Wide Science Fair in Fredrickton, NB in May. These included Stephanie Keats from Holy Spirit, Henley Mullins from St. Bonaventure’s College, as well as Momin Anwar, Juliana Koen Alonso, Callum Perry and Aaron Sakar, all students from Holy Heart. Aaron Sarkar received the Marine Institute Entrance Scholarship ($1000), Callum Perry received MUN’s Faculty of Science scholarship ($2550), and Momin Anwar was awarded the “Husky Energy Best of Fair” Prize ($500).

Stephanie Keats, Aaron Sarkar, Momin Anwar, Jim Gilmour (Husky Energy), Julianna Koen Alonso, Callum Perry (missing from photo: Henley Mullins)

Of the 131 projects, over half were recognized with medals and awards. There were 25 honourable mentions and 50 medals presented (23 gold, 20 silver and 17 bronze). As well, over 60 special awards from a number of MUN faculties and departments (Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Physics, Psychology, Engineering, Medicine and Ocean Sciences) and other organizations (CNA,  NAACAP,  IEEE, RASC, Conservation Corps, NL Institute of Agrologists, NL College for Medical Lab Sciences, Neety Panu, SHAD, WISE, PIPSC and Ted Rogers) were presented. The monetary value of all prizes, including the all expenses paid trip to the national competition, totaled over $20 000. As well, the 6 grand award winners were each presented with a stuffed husky dog from Husky Energy.

Past Fairs

%d bloggers like this: